Twix Cake

I needed to bake for my works Macmillan coffee morning and I always like to try something different. My father always pops over my house to see my daughter every Saturday, and he always brings her a packet of sweets as a treat. Last week, he brought a packet of mini Twix in a bag, and I got to thinking. I would love to use these as part of a cake – and this is when I decided to create my Twix cake.

Ingredients

8 oz Baking Margarine

8 oz Caster Sugar

4 Eggs

8 oz  Self Raising Flour

2 tsp Vanilla Extract

1 tin of caramel

300g Milk Chocolate

20ml Vegetable Oil

As many Twix as you wish to put on your cake (I used 32 single Twix!) OMG!

A Bag of Mini Twix

Method

Cream together the margarine and sugar until light and fluffy.

IMG_2408 IMG_2421

Add in your eggs (remembering to add in a table spoon of your flour at the same time to avoid your mixture splitting). Bring together and add the remaining flour.

Finally, add in your vanilla extract and combine. Spoon your cake mixture into a 7 inch cake tin and bake at 150°C/300°F/ Gas Mark 2 for 75-80 minutes until cooked through.

IMG_2427  img_2139

Once your cake has completely cooled you can begin to melt your chocolate. I usually melt my chocolate in a Bain-marie, by placing boiling water in a pan. Then putting the chocolate in a heat proof bowel on top of the pan of boiling water, being very careful. Stir the chocolate occasionally to make sure the chocolate melts evenly and doesn’t catch. I did put about 20ml of vegetable oil into the chocolate so it became a better consistency so it would spread onto the cake better.

img_2149  img_2178

Now, here is where I cheated. Im not afraid to admit I take the occasional shortcut, but hay, this cake was made on a school night and I only had so much time. Here enters a tin of Carnation caramel – its gooey, its sweet, lets face it, its absolutely scrummy. Lather the caramel on top of your sponge cake, making sure you check on your melting chocolate.

img_2156 img_2163

Once your chocolate has melted, remove the pan from the heat, and then remove the heat proof bowl and leave to the side to cool slightly for about 5 minutes. Once cooled ever so slightly, being very careful, literally pour the chocolate all over the top of your cake. Using a spatula, begin to spread the chocolate out so that it starts to go over the edges, making sure that the entire cake is covered. Don’t worry if the cake looks a bit messy, the Twix decoration will hide any un-neatness.

img_2185

Now the fun bit – add on the Twix all the way round your cake. I had mine so there was no gaps but that involved A LOT of Twix – so feel free to change the way you add them on.

img_2186

For the decoration for the top of the cake, I found some lovely Gold sprinkles in my cake larder so added these, as well as some mini Twix bites that seem to be new in the shops recently – they look very cute and a perfect finish for my cake.

This cake is def not for the faint hearted, but it is very scrummy and very easy to make. Give it a go and enjoy!

img_2199 img_2200

Leave a Reply

