Basil Bread

One of my favourite past times is attending afternoon teas around London with two of my best friends. We do this as a treat for each others birthdays. We recently attended a Charlie and the Chocolate Factory themed afternoon tea at the Chesterfield Hotel, Mayfair. The reason we chose this one for my friend is that she follows a Gluten free diet and this is one of the best afternoon teas that also has a Gluten Free option (seriously, her scones were bigger than my non Gluten Free ones). Anyway – part of this afternoon tea was the most amazing egg mayonnaise sandwich I have ever had. The reason as to why it was so yummy (in my opinion), was that it was on basil bread. It was amazing! Simply delicious! So scrummy in fact that I ordered some more! So when I got home I knew I just had to try and find a recipe and make some for myself, and here is the result. I found this recipe on allrecipes.com which has always been one of my go to sites if I need a recipe for something – its fab!

Ingredients

470ml Warm Water

1 tbsp Caster Sugar

14g Active Dry Yeast

1 tbsp Salt

480g Strong White Flour (Bread Flour)

60ml Milk (I used Semi-Skimmed as that’s what I had in my fridge at the time)

2 tbsp Dried Basil

Method

In a bowl, add in the sugar to the warm water and mix slightly until the sugar has fully dissolved. You can then sprinkle the yeast over the top and leave until it forms a creamy mixture. Give it a stir so yeast is fully mixed in.

IMG_7816 IMG_7820

Add in the salt and 1/4 of the flour and mix together until you have formed a very loose batter consistency.

IMG_7824 IMG_7827

Add in another 1/4 of flour, the milk and also the basil. Once combined, add in the remaining flour and combine.

IMG_7830 IMG_7836

Turn your dough out onto a well floured work surface and begin to knead for about 8 minutes until the dough is still a bit sticky. Once kneaded, pop into a oiled bowl, and cover with cling film or a tea towel and leave for its first rising for an hour. Ideally it needs to rise in a warm environment. I place mine in the oven on its very lowest setting, this gives my dough a fab rise.

IMG_7841IMG_7848

Once the hour is up, the dough should have doubled in size. Take out of the bowl and knead again until all of the air is out – this will take approx one minute.

IMG_7868 IMG_7872

Once the air is out of your dough, place in an oiled loaf tin for its second rise. Again, it goes back into the oven on its lowest setting. Leave it to rise for about 30 mins or until it has doubled in size yet again.

IMG_7884IMG_7892

Bake in the oven on 220°C/425°F/Gas Mark 7 for about an hour. Your loaf should be brown on the top and sound hollow if you tap it on the bottom of the loaf. Be careful removing it form the tin so you don’t burn yourself.

IMG_7962

Leave to cool for a few hours before slicing and making some yummy sarnies. I had to have egg mayo in mine as it reminded me of my afternoon tea. Have a go and enjoy!

IMG_7970 IMG_7977

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

