Lemon Sprinkle Celebration Cake

I had a friends birthday coming up, and I saw an image of a sprinkle cake online ages ago that I was just dying to give a go. I was going to make it for my daughters last birthday – however she changed her mind and wanted a pirate Minion cake instead. So when I had full reign on what I could make this time, it was an easy choice.

For the actual sponge, I used a lemon madeira cake recipe. It is a Nigella recipe. I love Nigella, and this is one of the best Lemon Madeira cake recipes I have used, and now I always stick to this recipe. Its moist, light and lemony. Ive added more lemon to this recipe from the original, as I just love a lemon flavour and it needs to be quite strong. Im forever complaining if something isn’t lemony enough – it drives my hubby crazy!

This will make 2x 7 inch round cakes. Or halve the recipe to make a loaf cake.

Lemon Madeira Ingredients

480g Baking Margarine

400g Caster Sugar

Grated zest and juice of 4 Lemons

6 Eggs

420g Self Raising Flour

180g Plain Flour

Filling and Decoration Ingredients

250g Butter

500g Icing Sugar

1/3 Jar of Lemon Curd

750g Sugar paste

LOTS of Sprinkles

Method

I use the mixer for this cake and do it in two stages. Firstly I put the margarine, caster sugar and lemon zest into my mixing bowl, and mix until its all combined.

IMG_7790

You then add in your eggs, both flours and finally the juice of your lemons.

IMG_7800

Mix to combine the rest of the ingredients, until you have a light mixture. Fully grease and line your baking tins and split the mixture evenly into your tins.

IMG_7805

Bake at 150°C/300°F/ Gas Mark 2 for about an hour and 15 minutes, or until cooked through. Leave to cool.

IMG_7858

Whilst your cake is cooling you can begin to make up your buttercream. Pop the butter into a bowl and stir with a spoon until soft. Gradually add in the icing sugar and mix until its fully combined, you might need to add in a splash of milk in order for you to get the buttercream to your desired consistency.

IMG_7888

Once your cakes have cooled, add a layer of buttercream on your base later and then add a lemon curd layer on top of the buttercream. Don’t add in too much, otherwise it will spill out of the sides once you add on the top layer.

IMG_7909 IMG_7913

Add on the top layer, and then using the remaining buttercream, dirty ice the top and sides of your cake. This creates an even sticky surface for your icing (sugar paste) to cling onto. Once all smoothed, begin rolling out your sugar paste and carefully put onto the cake and begin shaping it and cutting off any excess icing. If you have a smoothing tool – use that to make the icing as smooth as possible.

IMG_7920

Now you are ready to go sprinkle crazy! Using a water brush (or a new paint brush dipped in water). My suggestion (and I only realised this as I was starting it, as you can probably tell from the next two images), is to put a tray underneath your cake as you put on the sprinkles, as they will go EVERYWHERE. Using your water brush (or equivalent), wet the sugar paste a little area at a time and then pour your sprinkles on.

IMG_7928 IMG_7932

Do a little bit at a time and work your way round the cake until the top and the sides are completely covered. If you have a tilting cake decorating stand, this will make it easier for you, but i’m sure you can manage without one.

IMG_7936

As this was for a friends birthday, I added on a plaque of icing and piped a Happy Birthday message on it. Then to finish it off, I made some sugar paste balls and placed at the bottom of the cake to give it its finishing touch. This is quite a simple but effective cake to make, so why don’t you give it a try? Enjoy!

IMG_7950

Leave a Reply

